First-job interview

Engineer in the manufacturing hall

Rana Yussef talks about how she started her first job

How did you come to join ds automation?

I applied for a job after finishing my degree in electrical engineering. So working as an electronic technician at ds automation is the first step in my career after my studies.

You became part of the team in early 2019, so you are the youngest member. What was it like joining the team?

The first month was difficult of course, because everything was new for me. But my colleagues really helped me to find my feet and get used to everything, especially at the beginning. That meant it became easier for me every day to contribute to the projects.

  • Structuring of mutual tasks

What is your role? What do you spend most of your time doing?

During my first year I learnt the most in the production department. Here I prepare the printed circuit boards for assembly, put the various sensors together and then calibrate them. Then I also construct test models, to verify glasses, for instance. And I program the AMS1000 which is used for auger monitoring.

Did your degree prepare you well for the work you are doing now?

In my studies almost 80% of what I learnt was theoretical knowledge, and there were not many opportunities for putting it into practice. So for me it is particularly exciting and important to work on solutions alongside more experienced colleagues, and to keep getting new tasks and challenges to deal with. This gradually prepares me for my work in the development department.

What do you find exciting about the projects you work on with your team?

Above all it’s the way we work together that I like. Every one of us can contribute their competences and skills, and if you sometimes get stuck, the colleagues are always happy to give advice. We are quite a small team in fact. So it is quick and easy to ask other people for their opinion. Here I see every day that we can all learn from one another, and that is what makes it so special for me.

What motivates you on a day-to-day basis?

A passion for my work is what drives me, and the variety of my responsibilities. There is so much for me to learn and discover every day in every project. Personally I don’t like standing still. So what I really enjoy is the learning itself.

What are your personal goals?

Since I haven’t been living in Germany for very long, my main personal challenge is to improve my language skills. But they are getting better every day too.