Innovations

ds automation gmbh

Acoustic sensor network with real-time data evaluation (ASEDA)

This project is co-financed by the European Union in the framework of the European Regional Development Fund. Operational Programme Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 2014 - 2020 – Investment in Growth and Employment.

In condition based maintenance the continuous monitoring of assets in operation, such as marine engines, is indispensable. Impending failure may be discernible by changes in the noise signature long before the critical condition is reached. Today, with acoustic sensor measurement it is already possible to test individual components. The system to be developed of individual sensors shall within this project be expanded to a sensor network, allowing a continuous monitoring throughout the entire lifecycle. Efficient use in the sense of a "condition monitoring system" requires Industry 4.0 approaches: Digitalisation, networking and "machine learning". Acoustic monitoring throughout the entire life cycle thus forms the basis for developing solutions for the megatrend of predictive maintenance.

The aim of the project is to develop a new type of sensor platform which is network-compatible and features adapted analysis and sound localisation procedures. The distributed measurement of sound events opens up unique possibilities for the comprehensive monitoring of large units with just a few sensors, especially through the linking of sensors and sound localisation.
In addition to the development of the sensor network and the localisation of the sound events, methods for the optimal placement of the individual sensor systems are being investigated.

The ASEDA project “Acoustic sensor network with real-time data evaluation (ASEDA)” is a collaborative project of ds automation gmbh and the Fraunhofer Institute for Large Structures in Production Engineering (IGP).

Development of a sensor system for monitoring production processes in real time (ISEP)
in Echtzeit (ISEP)

This project is co-financed by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.

The partners involved are planning the development of an acoustic sensor for process monitoring that can be flexibly and autonomously integrated into existing production processes. As an exemplary application scenario for the acoustic sensor, it is intended to be used for precise monitoring of filling systems, conveying devices and dosing systems. Using “Machine Learning” (ML) methods, the features are extracted from the audio signals that are essential for recognizing a fault in the process or damage to the system. Process failures affect the quality of the products and machine damages can lead to longer and more expensive downtimes if they are not recognized in time. Error detection is essential to ensure consistent quality and to avoid production downtimes. The characteristics obtained are evaluated by an artificial neural network (ANN). Feature extraction and the neural network are optimized so that they can run embedded on a microcontroller. The manual effort for creating the sensor configuration (testing, training and configuring) shall be replaced by the ANN and is thus automated.

The aim of the project is to develop a new type of sensor platform with an integrated artificial neural network.

The ISEP project “Development of a sensor system for monitoring production processes in real time (ISEP)” is a collaborative project of ds automation gmbh and the Fraunhofer Institute for Microelectronic Circuits and Systems (IMS).

Innovationen

ds automation gmbh

Akustisches Sensornetzwerk mit Echtzeitdatenauswertung (ASEDA)

Dieses Projekt wird kofinanziert von der Europäischen Union aus dem Europäischen Fonds für regionale Entwicklung. Operationelles Programm Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 2014 – 2020 – Investitionen in Wachstum und Beschäftigung.

Für eine zustandsorientierte Instandhaltung von in Betrieb befindlichen Großkraftmaschinen, wie z. B. Schiffsmotoren, ist eine kontinuierliche Zustandsüberwachung („ConditionMonitoring“) unabdingbar. Fehler an Maschinen äußern sich durch eine Veränderung der Geräuschsignatur zumeist lange bevor ein kritischer Zustand eintritt. Die Messung mit akustischen Sensoren ermöglicht bereits heute eine Prüfung einzelner Komponenten. In diesem Projekt soll das zu entwickelnde Einzelsensorsystem zu einem Sensornetzwerken erweitert werden, wodurch die kontinuierliche Überwachung des gesamten Lebenszyklus ermöglicht werden soll. Ein effizienter Einsatz im Sinne eines „Condition-Monitoring-Systems“ erfordert Ansätze der Industrie 4.0: Digitalisierung, Vernetzung und „Machine Learning“. Die akustische Überwachung des gesamten Lebenszyklus bildet damit die Grundlage für die Entwicklung von Lösungen für den Megatrend der vorausschauenden Wartung („Predictive Maintenance“).

Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Entwicklung einer neuartigen Sensorplattform mit Netzwerkfähigkeit und angepassten Analyse- und Schallortungsverfahren. Die verteilte Messung von Schallereignissen eröffnet gerade durch die Verknüpfung der Sensoren und die Schallortung einzigartige Möglichkeiten zur umfassendenen Überwachung großer Aggregate mit wenigen Sensoren. Neben der Entwicklung des Sensornetzwerkes und der Lokalisierung der Schallereignisse werden Methoden zur optimalen Platzierung der Einzelsensorsysteme untersucht.

Das Projekt „Akustisches Sensornetzwerk mit Echtzeitdatenauswertung (ASEDA)“ ist ein Verbundvorhaben zwischen der ds automation gmbh und dem Fraunhofer Institut für Großstrukturen in der Produktionstechnik (IGP).

Entwicklung eines Sensorsystems zur Überwachung von Produktionsprozessen
in Echtzeit (ISEP)

Dieses Projekt wird kofinanziert vom Bundesamt für Wirtschaft und Energie.

Einsatzszenario für den Schallsensor ist die Verwendung zur präzisen Überwachung von Abfüllanlagen, Fördereinrichtungen und Dosiersystemen vorgesehen. Mit Methoden des „Machine Learnings“ (ML) werden die Merkmale aus den Audiosignalen extrahiert, die für die Erkennung eines Fehlers im Prozess oder Schadens der Anlage wesentlich sind. Prozessfehler beeinträchtigen die Qualität der Erzeugnisse und Maschinenschäden können zu längeren und teureren Ausfallzeiten führen, wenn sie nicht rechtzeitig erkannt werden. Für die Sicherstellung einer gleichbleibenden Qualität und um Produktionsausfälle zu vermeiden, ist die Fehlererkennung essentiell. Die gewonnenen Merkmale werden durch ein künstliches neuronales Netz (KNN) bewertet. Merkmalsgewinnung und das neuronale Netz werden dahingehend optimiert, so dass sie auf einem Mikrocontroller eingebettet lauffähig sind. Der manuelle Aufwand für das Erstellen der Sensorkonfiguration (Testen, Trainieren und Konfigurieren) soll durch das KNN abgelöst und damit automatisiert werden. Dadurch sollen unter anderem Kosten bei der Inbetriebnahme und während des Betriebes gesenkt werden.

Ziel des Vorhabens ist die Entwicklung einer neuartigen Sensorplattform mit einem integrierten künstlichen neuronalen Netz.

Das Projekt „Entwicklung eines Sensorsystems zur Überwachung von Produktionsprozessen in Echtzeit (ISEP)“ ist ein Verbundvorhaben zwischen der ds automation gmbh und dem Fraunhofer Institut für Mikroelektronische Schaltungen und Systeme (IMS).